7 Indian Places Require Travel Permits, Even For Indians

7 Indian Places Require Travel Permits, Even For Indians

Well, there are some places in India where you will need an Inner Line Permit (ILP) to visit. These are really influential places near the Indian national borders. This is done to regulate the movement of people in these areas. If you don’t know, here are some places you will need permission to enter.


In Meghalaya, obtaining internal rail permits is crucial before planning a trip, with the state following the example set by its counterparts in southeastern Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram. According to the Meghalaya Residents, Safety and Security Act, 2016, anyone who wants to stay in the state for more than 24 hours must obtain permission and submit the necessary documents to the government, which applies to tourists, workers and business transactions.

Protected Areas in Sikkim

Visiting remote protected areas in Sikkim, such as Tsomgo-Baba Mandir, NathuLa Pass, Dzongri trek, Singalila trek, Yumesamdong, Gurudongmar lake, Zero Point, Yumthang, and Thangu-Chopta Valley, requires a permit issued by the Tourism & Civil Aviation Department. Obtaining permits is possible at Bagdogra Airport and Rangpo check post, with assistance from tour operators or travel agents.

Arunachal Pradesh

Situated at the border junction of Myanmar, Bhutan, and China, Arunachal Pradesh requires Inner Line Permits for non-locals due to its sensitive nature. Travellers can obtain the permit for protected areas from the resident commissioner of the Government of Arunachal Pradesh in cities like New Kolkata, Delhi, Shillong, and Guwahati.


Sharing its border with Myanmar, Nagaland, known for its unique tribes, requires an inside line permit for visitors. The permit can be obtained from the Deputy Commissioner Dimapur, Kohima, New Delhi, Shillong, Mokokchung and Kolkata, or online.


Located close to Myanmar and Bangladesh, Mizoram, home to various indigenous tribes, requires an Inner Line permit, which can be obtained from the Mizoram Government Relations Officer. Cities like Guwahati, Silchar, Kolkata, Shillong and New Delhi provide these permits, and have special transit permits for those boarding flights at Lengpui Airport, Aizawl. Two types of ILP are available: temporary (15 days) and permanent (6 months).


In Manipur, known for its natural beauty, the permit requirement came into effect in December 2019. While a temporary permit will let you stay for up to 30 days, the Regular Permit remains valid for 90 days. Valid nationality proof and photographs are necessary for obtaining the permit.


Lakshadweep, an Indian Union Territory, necessitates permits for all travellers to manage tourist numbers on the paradise islands. To obtain the permit, one must provide a clearance certificate from a local police station along with identification documents. Online application for permits is also available.

Visited 27 times, 1 visit(s) today